Do you have a DotNetNuke website? Do you want to make some changes to it? Do you want to know about the internal settings changes? If you want to, this blog can be quite interesting for you, as it provides three important tips for editing your DNN website.
Minimize the file upload time by uploading multiple files together
If you want to upload a lot of files, it will take a lot of time if you upload it one by one. How amazing will it be, if you get a chance to upload all of them together! It will save a lot of time. So, if you want to upload them together, you must first compress all the files that you would like to upload into a .zip file. Then, as you do, go to file manager and select ‘upload a file’. Make sure you check on the ‘decompress zip file’ checkbox before pressing the ‘Upload File’ button.
Once you click on upload file, the compressed file will be moved to the location where you had targeted and then the decompression occurs. Can you believe, you have uploaded all the files together?
Changing your workflow – publish content before it is visible
If you have got the recent version of DNN, this feature will already be there. You can turn it on by going into any HTML module settings. Here is how you can do it…
Go into the HTML settings and go to work flow. There will be two options; the default one will be Direct Publish and another one will be Content Staging; the latter one lets you publish the content before it goes live on the site. However, if you would keep the default option, the changes will directly become live as soon as you click on save.
Make sure you look at the settings used by the modules. By choosing ‘module’, setting remains active only in the module in which you are working. By choosing ‘page’, setting remains active on all the modules of the entire page on which you are working. By choosing ‘site’, setting remains active on the entire website.
Make your content appear and disappear based on a date range
For scheduling the visibility of the module, DNN software has got the data range for the modules and pages.
If Start date and Expiration date are not supplied, module and page will always be visible
If Start date is supplied and Expiration date is not supplied, the module and page will be visible from the start date till you do not delete it.
If Start date is not supplied and Expiration date is supplied, module and page will be visible instantly and will last till the expiration date.
If Start date and Expiration date are supplied, the module and page will be visible on the start date and will automatically be stopped showing on the date of expiration.
The field of DNN website development is advancing each day and if you have got your website in DNN, you use the above-mentioned tips to edit it.